Newly elected members of Zimbabwe Parliament sworn in - AFRICAN PARLIAMENTARY NEWS



memfys hospital Enugu

Thursday, September 7, 2023

Newly elected members of Zimbabwe Parliament sworn in

Elected members of the Zimbabwe National Assembly were on Thursday September 7 sworn in at the Parliament Building pursuant to a General Notice in a Government Gazette published on Wednesday where it was announced that Members of Parliament will be sworn in.

Members of the House were sworn in by 10 am while Senators were sworn in at 2:30 pm.

According to a government release, the inauguration of the National Assembly, in compliance with Section 128 of the Constitution, will enable the Senators and Members of the National Assembly to take their seats. The oath was administered by the Clerk of Parliament.

The Members of each House assembled in their respective Chambers where they took their oaths as Members of Parliament in a ceremony conducted by the Clerk of Parliament in accordance with Section 145 of the Constitution.

The President of the Pan-African Parliament (PAP), H. E. Hon. Chief Fortune Z. Charumbira was among the Senators inaugurated and clears the way for him to resume his office in line with the provisions of Rules 9(3) and 16(15) of the Parliament’s amended Rules of Procedure. Other members of the Zimbabwe delegation to the Pan-African Parliament who are expected to be re-designated to PAP include Hon. Pupurai Togarep (Chief Whip) and Hon. Tatenda Mavetera (Presiding Officer).


No comments:

Post a Comment

Disclaimer: Comment expressed do not reflect the opinion of African Parliamentary News