PAP delegation joins the AUEOM ahead of elections in Cameroon - AFRICAN PARLIAMENTARY NEWS



memfys hospital Enugu

Friday, February 7, 2020

PAP delegation joins the AUEOM ahead of elections in Cameroon

An African Union Election Observation Mission (AUEOM) led by H.E Seyni Oumarou, former Prime Minister of Niger, has been deployed in the Republic of Cameroon ahead of the twin legislative and municipal elections scheduled to take place on Sunday  February 9, 2020.
The AUEOM to Cameroon includes members of the Pan-African Parliament and ambassadors drawn from the AU Permanent Representatives’ Committee (PRC), election administrators, civil society, media and electoral experts.
According to a release by the Pan African Parliament Media Office, the AUEOM are:” to provide an accurate and impartial reporting or assessment of the  9 February Elections including the degree to which the conduct of the elections meets regional, continental and international standards for democratic elections; to offer recommendations for improvement of future elections based on the findings; and to demonstrate AU’s interest to support Cameroonian elections and democratisation process to ensure that the conduct of genuine elections contributes to the consolidation of democratic governance, peace and stability”.
“In addition to training programmes conducted with observers, the Mission has been meeting with the political, administrative and judicial authorities of the country, the institutions in charge of elections, the national actors involved in the electoral process and the representatives of the international community in order to be aware of the arrangements made for the holding of credible, free and fair elections”.
“The PAP delegation makes up 40% of the AUEOM as per the framework agreement with the Department of Political Affairs of the African Union Commission”.
“The following members of the PAP and staff are currently taking part in the AUEOM in Cameroon: Hon. Ahamat Tahir Ahamat (Chad); Hon. Janet Ong’era (Kenya); Hon. Shitaye Minale Tizazu (Ethioipia); Hon. Mai Mahmoud Ebrahim (Egypt); Hon. Siniya Ahmed Nah (Saharawi);Hon. Sen. Nthati Bereng (Lesotho); Hon.Paul Bie Eyéné (Gabon). Members of the PAP are supported by Mrs Josiane Wawa Dahab, Senior Assistant Clerk at the PAP”.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Disclaimer: Comment expressed do not reflect the opinion of African Parliamentary News